A Day in the Life of an Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician

Hey everyone, my name is Ashley Cupcake Starfish. I’m an Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician. Nice name, I know… Anyway, this is my complete Day in the Life Post so I hope you enjoy in. :P

Education/Experience/Training : I’ve had a shorter education path than others. I graduated from High school, then took a 10 month period at nearby Community College to earn a Certificate and become an Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician. (pant. pant. Long name.) I took english classes, math classes and physics. After two years of on-the-job experience I decided to apply to the Canadian Aviation Maintenance Council for certification in my occupation.

My Occupation : I am a full-time employee at the Vancouver Airport. As a Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician I inspect, assemble and test many gas turbine engines. I work in a sophisticated shop environment and test cells, complete with computer assisted systems and leading-edge tools, machinery and techniques. After I fix an engine I complete the paperwork and document the work performed on the engine. It may not sound like a lot of fun to you, but I like my occupation and I do it well. I work regular hours and get the weekends off, which gives me a lot of free time. :D

Salary & Transferable Skills : I make a solid Gross earning of $4,080.00. After $1,197.05 of deductions I am left with $2,882.95. A lot of my Gross monthly income is taken off, but I manage to survive. It’s not that bad. :) Anyway, I have quite a few transferrable skills that I can pass down to future Aircraft Gas T-… you know what, I’ll just say A.G.T.E.R.A.O.T for short. (Still pretty long.) I have a knowledge of disassembly, cleaning, rebuilding, and balancing of components, which helps me with my job….. I mean occupation. I also have a strong mechanical aptitude, keyboarding skills and an ability to read and understand manuals and drawings. I’m even an excellent team player with solid communication skills and a tireless commitment to safety and excellence.

Leisure Time : Ashley Cupcake Starfish here to talk to you about Leisure Time. I mean, I’m sure everyone knows what I’m talking about when I say after a long hard day at work, you just want to sit down at home and put your feet up, right? Same here. A lot of my leisure time is spent on must-do activities such as eating, sleeping, chores, getting ready for work and even paying bills. After all of that I’m left with a good 38 hours of Leisure time a week. Pretty good eh? I could have gotten even more but I decided to sleep in an hour later everyday, so now I sleep a solid 8 hours a day! I mostly like playing with our black lab x german shepherd, Holly, going to Granville Island, reading, drawing, hanging out with friends, swimming, jogging, sports, going to the beach and catching movies with pals. A lot of my time goes to my part-time job at the Keg downtown, though, a good 6 hours per week, but it evens out my budget so it’s worth it.

Budget (Where does all my money go?) : Ever start the day off with 20 bucks in your pocket, then by the end of the day it’s gone? Happens all the time. I make $2, 882.95 every month. You might think that I don’t have a lot of money left after monthly expenses, but I even it out with a part-time job at the Keg. I make about $920 a month, which really helps my total! :P So now after all of my expenses I’m left with a great $1379.95, enough to go on a nice holiday! Even last week (when we were playing chance) I got a free PC computer, I just had to pay $50 for shipping! :o

Where I live/work : I rent a house with two of my friends. We live in 482 West 23rd Ave. Vancouver, BC. Its a really nice street that branches off of Cambie, so there are a lot of coffee shops, grocery stores, movie theaters and restaurants nearby. We live only a couple blocks away from King Edward Sky-Train station, which is how I get to work each day. The house we rent is a really nice 5 bedroom with a big, fenced backyard for our dog. We rent out the three bedroom first floor and second floor. There is a really nice couple who rents out the basement. They’re super quiet and we barely see them, so it’s like their not even there. :D I work at the Vancouver International Airport, working on the engines of planes. It only takes me twenty minutes getting to work, from where I live. I usually pack a lunch or go to the Airport’s food court for lunch.  I love the house we rent and where I work, so all is good.

Time (Where does my time go?) : Do you ever feel like your always in a rush? Like there isn’t enough time in a week to do everything? I work 40 hours out of a 168 hour week as a Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician. You might think that leaves me with a ton of time. Not really. :( 130 hours a week are used up on must-do activities (Working, Sleeping, Getting Ready, Commuting, Laundry, Meals, Shopping, Chores and Errands), so that leaves me with 38 hours of leisure time. I think it’s the perfect amount, and I get a lot of use out of it! However, 6 hours of my precious leisure time is spent on my part-time job, which helps balance out my budget so I don’t mind!

Thumbs Up & Thumbs Down Aspects : I love my job and I think there are a lot of thumbs up aspects about it. I work regular hours, get weekends off and get a great amount of sleep and leisure time. It’s really easy, fast and cheap commuting. Some people may think my career is hard, but I have no trouble with machines and technology, in-fact it is extremely easy for me, so that is why I like it so much! I love challenges, and when I’m finished with an engine I want to jump up and down with satisfaction and pride. :D However, there are some thumbs down aspects about it. For one, I may work good hours, but I only get 2 weeks of annual vacation time a year, which is less than my roommates. Also, working on machines can be quite frustrating at times, and it’s not as tidy as working in an office, I can tell you that much! Who cares about that though? I’m happy with my occupation, as it is something I enjoy. Besides, who knows? Things always change! Maybe even someday I’ll get to be what I’ll always dreamed to be! An engineer… Gotta stay in the present now, there’s work to be done!

Challenges : Everyone goes through challenges in life. I think that my budget is my biggest challenge! I’ve always daydreamed about owning my very own house, a car even a summer home, but that has been difficult. Money doesn’t grow on trees. Another challenge I’ve faced is my career. It can be quite frustrating at times, working with machinery. Also, I don’t think I’ll be able to stand another year of the same routine EVERY day! I need change! Without change, I’ll never get farther in life, never accomplish my goals or my dreams! However, I feel that with a little effort any challenge can be overcome, you just have to try your best!

My Future Goals : In the future, I hope to raise enough money to go to university and possibly get a higher-paying job. Getting my own house is one of my top goals. I’ve always dreamed of owning the nicest home on the planet, with a pool, a backyard and a huge house. My house would have to be in a great area, one that also is close to where I work. I also dream of getting a car, a sleek sports car to be exact. The Sky-Train is fun, fast and cheap, but it is so crowded. I long for privacy! Overall, even small goals can be goals still. I’d love to take care of our dog, Holly, and possibly other animals. Wants are important too, in my goals. Imagine having an Ipad, fancy shmancy designer clothing or even just treating myself to a little expensive food every now and then. :P

Holiday : I have 2 weeks of annual holiday. I wish I had more but I’m not one to complain. This summer I’m going with two of my friends to Jamaica. Ally Bengarden is one of them. Mmmmm. Jamaica. Lazing around on the beach all day, sipping sodey pops and swimming in the tropical waters. No stress or worries, just me, the sun and some perfect tan lines. It’ll cost me $1,300.00 to go, and since I’ve been saving all of the money I made from my part-time job, I can afford it! I can’t wait!

Food for thought : A little extra stuff you haven’t heard about me? My roommate’s mother gave us a black lab x german shepherd called Holly. One of my roommates works on a boat in the Gulf of Mexico so she’s not around much. My favourite flavour of ice cream is Vanilla Bean. I love Chinese food. My favourite show is Spongebob Squarepants. I like living in the area I live in because it’s close to a sky-train station, it’s walking distance away from a bunch of awesome stores and close to a fun dog park that I can take Holly to.

Well, that’s my blog for you. My complete post. Hope you liked it and if your ever considering working with machines why don’t you consider an… here goes… Aircraft Gas Turbine Engine Repair and Overhaul Technician. Alright so see y–… Hey! Holly! No! Bad Dog! Come back here! Sorry Holly just ran out the front door. Looks like I’ll have to catch her now. K’ Later. Ashley Cupcake Starfish out. :D



Hannah

Comments are closed.